Skip to main content

Planning Committee


Co-chaired by Catherine Carver of the University of Michigan and Paul Brown of the University of Maryland, the planning committee has representatives from across the Big Ten. The group works collaboratively to organize and execute the Democracy in the 21st Century events and programs.


Paul Brown, Director, Civic Innovation Center, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland

Catherine Carver, Lead, Democracy & Debate 2021-22, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan

Planning Committee Members

Chris Adams, Director of Student Services, John Glenn College of Public Affairs, Ohio State University

Matthew Baggetta, Associate Professor, Paul H. O’Neill School of Public & Environmental Affairs, Indiana University

Jodi Benenson, Assistant Professor of Public Administration, School of Public Administration, University of Nebraska Omaha

Zach Goldsmith, Academic Program Manager, Department of Political Science, Purdue University

Kelly LeRoux, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies (PhD), Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Research Public Administration, Department of Public Administration College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs, University of Illinois-Chicago

Mary McGrath, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Northwestern University

Cherie Maestas, Professor and Head, Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts, Purdue University

Elizabeth Matto, Associate Research Professor, Director, Center for Youth Political Participation, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Tima Moldogaziev, Associate Professor of Public Policy Director of Global Partnerships, School of Public Policy, Penn State University

Stephanie Newbold, Associate Professor in the School of Public Affairs and Administration at Rutgers University–Newark

Jos Raadschelders, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, John Glenn College of Public Affairs, Ohio State University

Julianna Pacheco, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Iowa

Sarah Reckow, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Political Science, Michigan State University

Catherine Squires, Associate Dean, Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

Josephine Swaney, Vice President for Education, Turn up Turnout, University of Michigan